The importance of being assertive – It’s actually OK to say No

I remember attending a birthday party for my friends 5 year old son. We had the usual chat about “what was Ok and what was not Ok” for the birthday cake and at this stage my son’s allergies had improved somewhat. I wasn’t worried about him coming into physical contact with dairy or egg, I only needed to watch what he ate. Except for the three nuts. After we arrived at the party a pre-ordered sushi platter arrived (mainly for the adults), which came with mini tubs of peanut sauce. We both looked at the platter and the sauce but before I got an opportunity to say it, she said “Let’s not risk it, I will just put these straight in the bin”. I was grateful.

It is amazing how quickly the anxious feelings can creep up but also, just as quickly subside after a thoughtful and respectful gesture from a friend.

Whilst I didn’t have to make the request on this occasion, there will be times when you will have to be assertive and make requests for the safety of your child and for your own peace of mind. Thankfully, I was able to continue at the party without minimal worry. If it had been left around, it would have been in the back of my mind the whole time we were there.

What can we learn from this?

  • It’s Ok to make requests at social events to ensure the safety of your child and peace of mind for yourself.
  • Learn to say No. And be Ok with it!
  • Be assertive. Remember, when they are younger, you are your child’s voice to help them navigate their food allergies.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Food allergies, Personal story, Practical strategies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

